Falling in to Photography

I wasn’t planning on getting in to photography. It just sort of happened. A friend of mine posted a picture on Google Plus from their new smart phone an commented about the quality of the depth of field. How shallow it was, for a phone.

But what does that mean?

I few questions and some more sample images later of pictures without a flash, because he couldn’t control the brightness. I started to look in to photography.

I wasn’t going to buy a camera, but checking out information about techniques and the effects. Looking at Trey Ratcliff’s amazing Stuck in Customs and watching the brilliant DigitalRev TV Pro Photographer, Cheap Camera series made me realize this could be fun.

Now I don’t have a lot of money to spend on equipment. Initially I thought there were basically only a couple of choices in cameras; expensive, big DSLRs vs point and shoot compacts. Watching youtube clips and reading some interesting websites, not least Camera Labs and Steve Huff Photo brought the world of compact system cameras or mirrorless cameras to my attention.

As an aside Steve Huff Photo is a great website, where Steve writes with passion about the cameras and photography he loves and ignores everything else.

Mirrorless cameras are basically DSLRs but without the mirrors. All the functionality and interchangeable lenses, but in a small compact body. They tend to have smaller sensors than full DSLRs, which has some interesting side effects. The problem with the mirrorless cameras is that there are a variety of incompatible systems; Micro four thirds (MFT) which is a “standard” of sorts; Sony NEX and a few others that are manufacturer specific. At this stage I’m still not thinking I’d buy anything.

It doesn’t hurt to investigate further! Right!?

I found lots of professional (Including Steve Huff) and ex-professional photographers (David Thorpe) liking the MFT system, due to it’s small sensor meaning the cameras (with the lenses) are very small. As it started the mirrorless revolution, and because it is a “standard” there are lots of quality lenses available, not only from the camera manufacturers. Compared to the Sony NEX which had a handful and you’re expected to attach DSLR lenses with an adapter. Size was a big factor in which system suited me best. I needed something that would fit in my pocket. I have young kids and need to be able to quickly take photos out and about or on holiday.

I didn’t want to look like some idiot who’d splashed out on expensive kit to take photos of his children paddling in the sea.

There are currently two manufacturers making MFT cameras; Panasonic and Olympus. Which one to go for? Both do bigger “small DSLR” type cameras. Both do smaller compact style which would suit me better. I didn’t care about the lack of view finder on the smaller cameras as I’m happy to just use the screen. I’d have liked an in-built flash. Some do and some don’t. I was flip flopping between the two manufacturers, I didn’t want the Panasonic small GF range, but they had other options. I liked the idea of their touch screen over the Olympus, so I was leaning that way. Then I came across this video by Ben Jacobson which basically decided that if I had the money I’d go for an Olympus. But these cameras new are £450 ($750)+.

What about the second hand market or ebay?

A tip for anybody venturing on to ebay, if you’re selling get your auction to end on a Sunday evening. If you’re buying, look for the ones ending in the middle of the afternoon in the week.

I kept an eye on ebay for a few weeks, if not longer, looking to see what price various Olympus and Panasonic MFT Cameras sold for. There was the odd bargain going for £50-£100 less than you’d expect. Then I saw a refurbished Olympus E-PL3 on a buy it now for £180 ($300). It wasn’t quite the model I wanted and it is an oldish camera (they seem to get updated every 6 months!). But it met my needs, it was small, carried out all the required functions easily, had good image quality.

The next day I “happened” to be passing a camera shop and thought I’d handle some. They had the E-PL5. It was £300+ more but they were throwing in an extra £300 lens if bought before the end of the month! It just seems like a nice camera, I didn’t experience the issue the reviews mention about it not having a good grip. So now I really wanted one. I did some sums and realized I could cover the £180 for E-PL3 on ebay, slept on it and then it was mine. It turned up last week and I’m very impressed.

Top view of E-PL3

3 thoughts on “Falling in to Photography

  1. A well balanced and level headed decision making process. Very good write up too. Welcome to the world of photography 🙂

Leave a comment